Policies & Child Safe Standards

Child Safe Standards

Protecting the safety and wellbeing of children enrolled at Newport Lakes Primary School is our highest priority.  Families put their trust in the leadership, staff, volunteers and external providers to keep their children safe as they learn. We know students learn best when they feel they are in a safe and supportive environment.

 As required by Ministerial Order 1359 (replacing Order 870) all schools are required to:

    • have zero tolerance for child abuse

    • demonstrate commitment to providing a child safe environment

    • have systems to protect children from abuse, and take all allegations and concerns seriously with the commitment to respond to them consistently in line with the school’s policies and procedures

    • be committed to raising awareness of the importance of child safety

    • actively work to listen to and empower children

    • promote the cultural safety of indigenous children, children from culturally and/or linguistically diverse backgrounds and children with a disability

In response to the Ministerial Order, the Victorian Government has introduced eleven Child Safe Standards across all organisations in the Victorian communities where children spend time. 

These standards will:

    • build a stronger and more consistent approach to preventing and responding to child abuse

    • support the empowerment of all students

    • embed a culture of child safety at Newport Lakes Primary School

Schools should be the safest place for children after the family home, and these standards will support the work that school staff do to maintain the safety and security of our children.

Child Safe Standards will build on existing School Policies, and strengthen the work across Victorian early years services.  Newport Lakes Primary School is committed to the protection of all children from all forms of child abuse. 

Meeting the Standards is about considering the needs of all children, particularly those who may be vulnerable due to age, family circumstances, abilities, or indigenous, cultural or linguistic backgrounds.

The 11 Child Safe Standards are:

Child Safe Standard 1: Culturally Safe Environments

Child Safe Standard 2: Child safety and wellbeing is embedded in leadership, governance and culture

Child Safe Standard 3: Child and student empowerment

Child Safe Standard 4: Family engagement

Child Safe Standard 5: Diversity and Equity

Child Safe Standard 6:  Suitable staff and volunteers

Child Safe Standard 7: Complaints processes

Child Safe Standard 8: Child safety knowledge, skills, and awareness

Child Safe Standard 9: Child safety in physical and online environments

Child Safe Standard 10: Review of child safety practices

Child Safe Standard 11: Implementation of child safe practices

Policies directly relating to the Child Safe Standards are:

NLPS Child Safety Policy

NLPS Child Safety Code of Conduct

Child Safety Responding and Reporting Obligations Policy and Procedures